NTSE is one of the most prestigious competitive scholarship program in INDIA. Only 10th class students can appear for this exam which is conducted by NCERT.


  • Name of the Exam – NTSE (National Talen Search Examination)
  • Conducted by – NCERT
  • Number of stages – 2
  • Number  of sections – 2(in each stage)
  • Total number of questions in each stage – 200
  • Exam duration – 3 hours
  • No negative marking in stage 1, 1/3rd  mark deduction for every wrong answer in stage 2

Exam Pattern:

The exam pattern is same for both NTSE stage 1 and stage 2.

In both the stages, there are two sections, Mental Ability Test (MAT), and Scholastic Ability Test (SAT). The SAT again has two parts i.e., Language Test and Science, Social Science and Mathematics.